Sunday, June 12, 2016

The 5 Elements: Water Flow Yoga

Panchamahabhutus is Sanskrit for the 5 Great Elements of Nature.  They are:

  • Water
  • Earth
  • Fire
  • Air
  • Space
Each of these elements have their own qualities and characteristics.  They also have a set of asanas (yoga poses).  We will explore each of them.  Today we will start with the Water Element.

The 5Elements Water Flow is a rejuvenating practice.  It is appropriate for all levels.  There is a soft, fluid, and cooling quality as we move through this routine.  The Bhava (mood) is feminine, lunar, and smooth.  The routine will activate your 2nd  and 4th Chakras.  The 2nd Chakra is located in the lower abdomen and we will be performing some poses to work those muscles.  The 4th Chakra, also know as the Anahata Chakra, is located at the heart.  We will be stretching the chest muscles to open the heart.  We will also be performing an Anahata Namaskar.


No comments:

Post a Comment